Lollapalooza is certainly an interesting weekend for music fans. You spend all day at a festival where the two main stages are a mile apart, waking up early four days in a row to see your favorite bands, coming home at around 10:30 from their sets, and immediately heading to your local club venue to see even more music. Some people’s hell, some people’s heaven. Regardless of whether you enjoy this system, it’s bound to create some interesting performances when the main act makes their way onto the stage at 12:00 am after a full weekend of lunacy.

Mac DeMarco’s set at Concord Music Hall was no exception to the rule, with the packed Logan Square located venue completely intoxicated by whatever Mac threw their way. Whether it was a ten minute rendition of “Tequila”, practicing his stand up comedy he “found on a website”, or doing his evil laughs, Chicago could not get enough of it.

We certainly did get at least eight good songs out of Mac, with new track “On The Level” having audience members singing each and every lyric with the jizz-jazz musician. Mac DeMarco’s fans are a loyal bunch, and while they thoroughly enjoyed the set list, watching their favorite musician goof around on stage was priceless.

Catch Mac DeMarco on tour to get a glance of the live show yourself. See details below for Mac DeMarco’s full tour, including a few co-headline dates with The Flaming Lips.

Mac DeMarco Tour Dates (dates with The Flaming Lips in bold):
Fri. Sep. 8 – Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theater
Sat. Sep. 9 – Portland, OR @ Oregon Zoo Amphitheatre
Sun. Sep. 10 – Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre
Mon. Sep. 11 – Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre
Thu. Sep. 14 – Spokane, WA @ Knitting Factory
Fri. Sep. 15 – Missoula, MT @ Wilma Theatre
Sun. Sep. 17 – St. Paul, MN @ Myth Live Event Center *
Mon. Sep. 18 – Milwaukee, WI @ Eagles Ballroom Club Stage *
Tue. Sep. 19 – Indianapolis, IN @ Farmer’s Bureau Insurance Lawn at White River State Park *
Wed. Sep. 20 – Niagara Falls, NY @ Rapids Theatre *
Fri. Sep. 22 – New York, NY @ Radio City Music Hall
Sun. Sep. 24 – Philadelphia, PA @ Mann Center
Mon. Sep. 25 – Durham, NC @ Carolina Theatre
Tue. Sep. 26 – Athens, GA @ Georgia Theatre
Wed. Sep. 27 – New Orleans, LA @ Orpheum Theatre
Fri. Sep. 29 – Houston, TX @ Revention Music Center *
Sat. Sep. 30 – Irving, TX @ Pavilion at The Music Factory *
Sun. Oct. 1 – Austin, TX @ ACL Live at the Moody Theater *
Mon. Oct. 2 – Austin TX @ Stubb’s
Thu. Oct. 5 – Phoenix, AZ @ Comerica Theatre *
Fri. Oct 6 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Santa Barbara Bowl *
Sat. Oct. 7 – Los Angeles, CA @ Shrine Expo Hall *
Mon. Oct. 9 – Pomona, CA @ Fox Theater Pomona *

* = co-headline w/ The Flaming Lips

 

Photography by Katherine Wilburn